Kilgore on Manning Award Watch List

National Honor Recognizes Top Quarterback in Country After Bowls

August 2, 2013 · @MTAthletics

NEW ORLEANS - The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, announced its preseason Watch List on Friday and Middle Tennessee's Logan Kilgore is among the recognized signal-callers. This year's list of quarterbacks was selected in conjunction with the release of ESPN's new Total Quarterback Rating (QBR) - the top 30 returning quarterbacks according to the QBR make up the Watch List. The winner will still be selected by a voting panel, which includes national media and each of the Mannings, after the bowls.

Kilgore, who had a 60.3 QBR, Completed 63.3 percent of his passes and threw for 2,571 yards in 2012 to become just the second signal-caller in school history to have back-to-back 2,000-yard campaigns. The senior tossed 16 touchdown passes to only six interceptions. Kilgore has also appeared at the Manning Passing Academy the past three summers.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

"This is always an exciting time of year for college football players, coaches and fans," said Archie Manning. "ESPN has come up with an interesting new statistical measure of quarterbacks so we decided to use the QBR to determine our Watch List, but we want to remind everyone that every quarterback in the country remains eligible to win this honor and we're looking forward to seeing how things play out on the field."

Total QBR measures a quarterback's contributions to scoring on each play (passing, rushing, sacks, fumbles, and penalties) accounting for game context (down, distance, yard line, time remaining, and score) and adjusted for opponent strength. It is based on a 0-100 scale and 50 is average.

This year's Watch List includes players from all 10 Football Bowl Subdivision conferences. The Mountain West Conference leads the way with six honorees, while the Southeastern Conference has five quarterbacks on the list and the Pac-12 adds four.

2013-14 Manning Award Watch List
Name Cl. School QBR
David Ash Jr. TEXAS 77.2
Blake Bortles Jr. UCF 72.9
Tajh Boyd Sr. CLEMSON 82.2
Teddy Bridgewater Jr. LOUISVILLE 78.1
Terrance Broadway Jr. UL-LAFAYETTE 76.9
Kolton Browning Sr. UL- MONROE 68.6
Derek Carr Sr. FRESNO ST 64.1
Rakeem Cato Jr. MARSHALL 68.8
Kain Colter Sr. NORTHWESTERN 65.3
Cody Fajardo Jr. NEVADA 75.6
David Fales Sr. SAN JOSE STATE 78.4
Brett Hundley So. UCLA 68.8
Chuckie Keeton Jr. UTAH STATE 76.4
Taylor Kelly Jr. ARIZONA STATE 65.7
Logan Kilgore Sr. MIDDLE TENN  60.3
Jordan Lynch Sr. NORTHERN ILLINOIS 74.7
Sean Mannion Jr. OREGON STATE 62.5
Johnny Manziel So. TEXAS A&M 90.5
Marcus Mariota So. OREGON 87.3
Taylor Martinez Sr. NEBRASKA 70.4
A.J. McCarron Jr. ALABAMA 81.1
Braxton Miller Jr. OHIO STATE 68.4
Stephen Morris Sr. MIAMI FLORIDA 59.6
Aaron Murray Sr. GEORGIA 78.4
Bryn Renner Sr. NORTH CAROLINA 63.6
Connor Shaw Sr. SOUTH CAROLINA 64.6
Brett Smith Jr. WYOMING 74.6
Joe Southwick Sr. BOISE STATE 68.9
Eric Soza Sr. TEXAS-SAN ANTONIO 62.3
Bo Wallace Jr. OLE MISS 60.0

Additional quarterbacks may be added to the Watch List after the start of the season. The list of 10 finalists will be released on Wednesday, Nov. 27. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, Jan. 8.

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.