GoBlueRaiders.com THE OFFICIAL WEBSITE OF MIDDLE TENNESSEE STATE UNIVERSITY ATHLETICS

105 report to camp for Blue Raiders

First practice set for Aug. 2

August 1, 2013 · @MTAthletics

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - Head Coach Rick Stockstill welcomed 105 veterans and newcomers Thursday as the team officially reported for the start of fall drills. The first official practice is set for Friday at 2:50 PM and is open to the public.

"I really like what the team has done in the offseason and how hard they have worked and competed," said Stockstill. "I am anxious to get on the field Friday and see the improvement our guys have made in strength and conditioning as well as skill development.

"I like the attitude and focus of this team. We have a sharp edge about us and we need to keep that edge. This is a hungry bunch and the key is to stay that way and get better over the next 29 practices."

The freshmen and transfers spent most of the day in academic orientation meetings Thursday before taking photos and physicals early in the afternoon. Following a 5:30 PM dinner, Stockstill will hold a senior meeting at 6:45 PM, followed by a team meeting, before calling it a day.

The NCAA's mandatory acclimatization period will begin with Friday's practice and will conclude with Tuesday's drills.

A total of 41 lettermen and 16 starters highlighted the list of players reporting to camp Thursday.

The Blue Raiders had four newcomers who did not report, including Devante Lee, Ed Batties, Kenderson Obas, and Jahmal Jones.

Lee: Arrived on campus in June and was here four days before learning his father had to have major surgery. He felt he needed to be home and help care for him so he was granted his release.

Batties: Is finishing up a class that ends August 8 and will report to camp soon after.

Obas: Did not qualify academically and has been placed in a junior college.

Jones: Still trying to resolve some paperwork with the clearinghouse but is expected to be in Murfreesboro soon.

On the injury front, offensive linemen Jesse Grisham will be out for about two weeks before he can begin drills while Craig Allen, Jacob Corbaley, Herbert King, and Stephen Roberts will all be limited.

The Blue Raiders will open the 2013 season at home against Western Carolina, August 29. Kickoff is slated for 6:30 PM CST.

Camp Schedule
Friday, August 2: 2:50 PM to 5:00 PM
Saturday, August 3: 3:20 PM to 5:45 PM
Sunday, August 4: 3:40 PM to 5:45 PM
Monday, August 5: 10:35 AM to 12:35 PM
Tuesday, August 6: 10:30 AM to 12:30 PM
Wednesday, August 7: 9:00 AM - 10:40 AM; 7:45 PM to 9:10 PM
Thursday, August 8: 3:20 PM - 5:20 PM
Friday, August 9: 9:00 AM - 11:10 AM; 7:50 PM - 9:15 PM
Saturday, August 10: 6:20 PM (Scrimmage)
Sunday, August 11: Fan Day (2-4 PM)
Monday, August 12: 9:00 AM - 11:10 AM; 7:50 PM to 9:15 PM (Closed)
Tuesday, August 13: 4:00 PM to 6:05 PM
Wednesday, August 14: 9:00 AM - 11:45 AM; 7:45 PM to 9:00 PM (Closed)
Thursday, August 15: 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM
Friday, August 16: 3:20 PM to 5:00 PM (Closed)
Saturday, August 17: 3:05 PM to 5:30 PM (Closed)
Sunday, August 18: No Practice
Monday, August 19: 4:00 PM to 6:00 PM (Closed)
Tuesday, August 20: 7:15 PM to 9:00 PM (Closed)
Wednesday, August 21: 4:05 PM to 6:15 PM (Closed)
Thursday, August 22: 3:30 PM to 5:30 PM (Closed)
Friday, August 23: 11:20 AM to 1:10 PM (Closed)
Saturday, August 24: 11:00 AM to 12:50 PM (Closed)
Sunday, August 25: 6:05 PM to 8:00 PM (Closed)
Monday, August 26: Classes Begin/Game Week
*All times are subject to change due to inclement weather.

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.