Blue Raider trio earns C-USA year end honors

Loye, Jorgenson and Figg pick up postseason conference accolades

November 4, 2013 · @MTAthletics

C-USA All-Conference Release

IRVING, Texas - Conference USA released its 2013 women's soccer All-Conference awards Monday morning and Middle Tennessee's Kate Loye, Emily Jorgenson and Rachael Figg were all recognized.

In the Blue Raiders' inaugural C-USA season, Loye was named to the All-Conference Second Team and Jorgenson earned Third Team nods, while Figg was an All-Freshman selection.

Loye started all 18 games for Middle Tennessee and led the team this season with 18 points off of seven goals and four assists. She closed out her sophomore campaign tied for 10th in the league in goals. The midfielder tallied eight points in C-USA play, netting three goals and dishing out two assists. The New Zealand native totaled five points against Tennessee Tech Sept. 15, playing a part in each goal for MT, scoring two goals with one assist.

Jorgenson was named to the All-C-USA Third Team after starting all 18 matches for MT as a defender. The sophomore netted the game-winning goal against Tennessee Sept. 13 off of a set play after a free kick. After her performance against the Lady Volunteers, she was named to the Colelge Soccer 360 Primetime Players Honor Roll on Sept. 18. Jorgenson tallied three assists on the season, including an assist in a 1-0 victory at FAU Oct. 4. She led a defense that recorded eight shutouts this season, including a 1-0 victory over Tennessee.

After starting 17 of MT's 18 games this season, Figg earned a spot on the C-USA All-Freshman Team. The forward notched five points on the season off of two goals and one assist. She netted the game-winner against Alabama A&M in the third minute as teammate Tori Hawkins hit a cross into the box, finding the foot of Figg. She averaged 66.6 minutes played per game for the Blue Raiders this year.

In addition to the All-Conference Teams, C-USA also released its specialty award winners. North Texas' Rachael Holden was voted as C-USA Player of the Year by the league's 16 head coaches, while also collecting Freshman of the Year honors. Kelsey Hodges from North Texas was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year, while Midfield of the Year accolades went to Kaeli Vandersluis of Colorado College. Colorado College's Geoff Bennett was named C-USA Coach of the Year.

The complete list of All-Conference Teams and Freshman Team members can be found here.

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.