MT's Rowe named to Naismith Trophy Watch List

Senior averaging 22.5 points and 11.0 rebounds this season

November 25, 2013 · @MTAthletics

ATLANTA - For the second consecutive year, Middle Tennessee's Ebony Rowe earned distinction by garnering a spot on the Naismith Trophy Top 50 watch list as released by the Atlanta Tipoff Club on Monday.

The Naismith Trophy honors the Women's Basketball Player of the Year for the 2013-14 season. Rowe, a senior forward, is averaging 22.5 points and 11.0 rebounds in four games this year. The Lexington, Ky., native has already picked up two double-doubles against No. 4 Tennessee (22 points/16 rebounds) and at Arkansas (22 points/11 rebounds). She netted a season-high with 28 points in MT's 12-point loss to No. 7 Kentucky on Sunday. Rowe joins Rice's Jessica Kuster as the only two active seniors to average a double-double in their first three years of collegiate competition. 

As a preseason All-Conference USA selection, Rowe holds numerous school records including 55 career double-doubles, 527 offensive rebounds and 1,058 total rebounds. The Lexington, Ky. product ranks seventh in school history with 1,809 points in her career.

This is the second time Rowe was named to the prestigious Naismith Award Watch List. She earned Top 50 and Top 30 recognition last season. In October, Rowe was also tabbed to the Wade Trophy Watch List. 

In 1983, the Naismith Awards began recognizing the women's college basketball player of the year (Anne Donovan, Old Dominion). The Awards further expanded in 1987 to honor the men's and women's college coaches of the year, the boy and girl high school players of the year, and, in 1988, the men's and women's college officials of the year.

In November of each year, the board of selectors, comprised of coaches, administrators and media from across the country, chooses the preseason top 50 "watch list". In February, the Naismith voting academy narrows the list to the top 30 based on athletic performance. In March, the voting academy selects the four finalists who will go to the final ballot. The winner is selected by a board of selectors vote in conjunction with fan voting.

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.