Raiders vote on permanent team captains

Allen, Kilgore, Staten, Walker receive ultimate honor

December 6, 2013 · @MTAthletics

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - Middle Tennessee Head Coach Rick Stockstill announced today permanent captains for the Blue Raiders in 2013. Linebacker Craig Allen, quarterback Logan Kilgore, defensive tackle Jimmy Staten, and offensive guard Josh Walker were honored as the eighth group of permanent captains in the FBS era at Middle Tennessee.

The team voted on the four captains and Coach Stockstill made the announcement during a recent team meeting.

"This is the ultimate honor when your teammates make you a permanent captain for the season," said Stockstill. "These four guys have meant a lot to this program and all are very deserving. It's not just your play on the field but the way you conduct yourself off the field and how you lead and push your teammates. When your peers give you a vote for the way you practice every day and compete on the field and in the classroom there is not a better honor out there."

Permanent Captains:
2006: Eugene Gross, Jonathan Harris, Clint Marks, Justin Rainey
2007: Tavares Jones, DeMarco McNair, Bradley Robinson, Erik Walden
2008: Joe Craddock, Wes Hofacker, Ivon Hickmon, Trevor Jenkins
2009: Danny Carmichael, Desmond Gee, Patrick Honeycutt, Brandon Perry, Alex Suber
2010: Mark Fisher, Jeremy Kellem, Dwight Smith, Phillip Tanner
2011: Marquise Branton, Colin Boss, Derrick Crumpton, Arness Ikner
2012: Anthony Amos, Benny Cunningham, Micah James, Omar McLendon, Jeff Murphy
2013: Craig Allen, Logan Kilgore, Jimmy Staten, Josh Walker

Follow the Blue Raiders on Twitter @MTAthletics for continued updates.