C-USA Championship bracket set for No. 22 Raiders

MT plays Thursday at Noon CT in quarterfinal round

March 7, 2014 · @MTAthletics

IRVING, Texas - No. 22 Middle Tennessee captured the Conference USA regular season title and the No. 1 seed at the 2014 Conference USA Women's Basketball Championship, March 11-15 at Memorial Gym and the Don Haskins Center in El Paso, Texas.

The Blue Raiders put together a 26-4 overall record and a 15-1 record in league play to capture the school's sixth consecutive regular season title. MT will play in the quarterfinal round on Thursday, March 11 at Noon CT/11 a.m. MDT. The Raiders face the winner of the No. 8 UAB vs. No. 9 Florida Atlantic/No. 16 Marshall game.

Coach Rick Insell's squad joins four other schools (Gonzaga, Green Bay, Marist and Stanford) that have currently won six or more consecutive regular season championships. Middle Tennessee is the nation's only school this season to have claimed or shared a regular season title in both men's and women's basketball during their first year in a new league.

Southern Miss captured the No. 2 seed with a 13-3 league record and a school-record 24 regular-season victories (24-5). The Golden Eagles were picked to finish 13th in the preseason poll, but ended up tying the program's highest tournament seed in school history. Host UTEP earned the No. 3 seed with a 12-4 conference record. The Miners sport an overall record of 23-6, with 16 of those victories coming inside the Dan Haskins Center (16-1). Tulane claims the final top four seed at 11-5.

The opening three rounds will be played inside legendary Memorial Gym before moving across the street to the Don Haskins Center for the semifinals and championship game. Both venues are located on UTEP's campus.

Tuesday's four first-round match-ups feature No. 9 Florida Atlantic vs. No. 16 Marshall at 11 a.m. MDT, followed by No. 12 Rice vs. No. 13 FIU at 1:30 p.m. MDT. The final two games on opening day highlight No. 11 North Texas vs. No. 14 Louisiana Tech at 5 p.m. MDT and defending tournament champion No. 10 Tulsa vs. No. 15 UTSA with a final tip of 7:30 p.m. MDT.

Second-round tip times mirror opening day as Wednesday's games start with No. 8 UAB facing the winner of the FAU/Marshall matchup, followed by fifth-seeded East Carolina taking on the winner of Rice/FIU in the afternoon. The evening session games will feature No. 6 Charlotte vs. North Texas or Louisiana Tech while No. 7 Old Dominion will face the advancing team from the Tulsa/UTSA game.

In Thursday's quarterfinal round the league's top four teams will be in action as No. 1 seed Middle Tennessee opens the day at 11 a.m., followed by No. 4 seed Tulane. Host and No. 3 seed UTEP takes the court at 5 p.m., followed by No. 2 seed Southern Miss at 7:30 p.m. MDT.

First, second and quarterfinal round games on Tuesday, March 11, Wednesday, March 12 and Thursday, March 13 will air on the C-USA Digital Network. The Friday semifinal games will be shown on CBS Sports Network at 9 and 11:30 a.m. (MDT). CBS Sports Network will also broadcast the championship game on Saturday at 6 p.m. (MDT).

To subscribe to the C-USA Digital Network visit http://www.conferenceusa.com/allaccess/.

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.