Zac Curtis drafted in the sixth round by Arizona

Senior is fifth highest selection in program history

June 6, 2014 · @MTAthletics

MURFREESBORO, Tenn. - Middle Tennessee senior left-handed pitcher Zac Curtis was selected in the sixth round, 180th overall, by the Arizona Diamondbacks in the 2014 Major League Baseball Draft on Friday.

Curtis became the 13th Blue Raider since 1976 to be selected in the top-10 rounds and the fifth highest overall pick in program history. Prior to Curtis' selection on Friday, first rounder Bryce Brentz had been the most recent top-10 round selection by the Boston Red Sox in 2009. 

"I am very excited for Zac," said head coach Jim McGuire. "It's an honor to be drafted that high. We've had several guys that have reached the major leagues that were drafted in later rounds. It's a big accomplishment for Zac and this program for him to be drafted this high. He is very deserving."

"I am one step closer to my lifelong goal," said Curtis. "It's an extremely humbling experience that I'll never forget. Thank you to my family, coaches, teammates and those who have supported me along the way."

The Hendersonville native came on strong during his senior campaign to post a 9-3 record with a stellar 1.89 ERA in 15 appearances. In 114.0 innings pitched, Curtis threw a nation-leading 136 strikeouts. His punchout total this year is second all-time in a single-season at Middle Tennessee.

The left-hander threw five complete games, recording two shutouts. Curtis allowed just one unearned run in a 3-2 victory over No. 10 Rice on March 28. He tossed MT's first two-hit game in five years at FIU. Curtis tossed double-figure strikeouts in eight contests.

Curtis earned Conference USA Pitcher of the Week honors three times and was named a first team All-Conference USA selection. Last week, he was named a semifinalist for the Gregg Olson Award, which goes to the nation's top player that elevates his game.

Blue Raiders selected in the Top-10 rounds of the MLB Draft

1976: George Ploucher, Houston Astros - 9th round (193)
1982: Ken Gearhart, Baltimore Orioles - 5th round (130)
1988: Eddie Pye, Los Angeles Dodgers - 10th round (244)
1990: Jayhawk Owens, Minnesota Twins - 2nd round (52)
1991: Dwight Robinson, New York Mets - 10th round (277)
1996: George Oleksik, Arizona Diamondbacks - 10th round (305)
1998: Jeremy Owens, San Diego Padres - 8th round (232)
2001: Dewon Brazelton, Tampa Bay Rays - 1st round (3)
2004: John Williams, Minnesota Twins - 7th round (211)
2004: Brett Carroll, Florida Marlins - 10th round (308)
2006: Michael McKenry , Colorado Rockies - 7th round (198)
2009: Bryce Brentz, Boston Red Sox - 1st round (36)
2014: Zac Curtis, Arizona Diamondbacks - 6th round (180)

Friend of the Blue Raiders? Like us on Facebook and become part of the True Blue army today.