• Back to Membership

  • John DoDoo

    Inducted: 2008
    Sports: Track and Field

    Originally from the African country of Ghana, DoDoo was the first in a long line of Ghanaians to participate in track for Middle Tennessee and Coach Dean Hayes. He was a member of the famous "Grasshopper Gang" of nationally-known Blue Raider jumpers in the late 1970s. His record in the OVC outdoor triple jump of 54 feet ½ inch is still unchallenged. He earned All-American honors in the triple jump in 1978 and 1979 and won the long and triple jump in every meet while also competing as a member of the 4 X 100 relay team. John won the OVC indoor triple jump in 1978 and 1979, the outdoor triple jump in 1977, 1978, and 1979 and was named the OVC outdoor track "Athlete of the Year" in 1977.

    DoDoo earned both an undergraduate and master's degree from his alma mater. He became a citizen of the United States in 1986 and joined the U.S. Army shortly thereafter, eventually serving in combat missions in Somalia-Africa, Haiti and Kosovo. DoDoo retired from active service in the U. S. Army in 2006 after 20 years of service.

    Class of 2013

    Dewon Brazelton

    Roger Carroll

    Dwone Hicks

    Priscilla Robinson Murray
    Basketball, Volleyball

    James "Doug" Shrader
    Basketball, Baseball

    History of the Hall of Fame

    In the early spring of 1975, a pair of long-time supporters of Middle Tennessee State University's athletic program decided that the University should honor its greatest athletes. Homer Pittard, alumni director, and Gene Sloan, public relations director, came up with the idea and asked sports information director Jim Freeman to join them in setting up an athletic hall of fame.

    After getting approval for the Hall of Fame from President M. G. Scarlett, the trio began laying the groundwork to select the first inductees. Others, including Bob Womack and Joe Nunley, were also involved.

    "We decided not to have categories but to put all candidates in one group," said Freeman. "We also decided against inducting a large group to start with and felt that three per year was the ideal number. That way, everyone got a good share of the spotlight."

    The nominating and voting for the first several years was done by members of the old "T" Club, now reorganized and called the Varsity Club. Nominations were solicited, and the the list of candidates was mailed to the voters. They selected Horace Jones, Charles "Bubber" Murphy and Teddy Morris as the initial inductees in 1976.

    The Blue Raider Hall of Fame was originally housed in the old Blue Raider Room under the west side of the football stadium. It had to be torn down when then stadium was expanded in 1998. After several years without a home, the Hall of Fame moved into the new Rose and Emmett Kennon Sports Hall of Fame building in 2004.