• Back to Membership

  • Kelly Holcomb

    Inducted: 2008
    Sports: Football

    Recruited by Coach Boots Donnelly in 1991 from Lincoln County High School, Kelly Holcomb was to become one of Middle Tennessee's all-time great quarterbacks. He was a four-year starter for the Blue Raiders, leading them to the Ohio Valley Conference Championship in 1992. He gained all-conference honors in 1992 and 1994, finishing his collegiate career by being named the Most Valuable Player in the 1994 Blue-Gray game in Mobile, Alabama.

    Holcomb left the Blue Raiders as the career passing leader with 7,064 yards in spite of directing a run-oriented offense. He passed for over 200 yards in 12 games during his career and had three games of over 300 yards passing while finishing with a career pass completion percentage of 58.2, still ranking him 5th all-time. Possibly the highest profile Middle Tennessee athlete in recent memory, he began his lengthy NFL career in 1995. 

    Class of 2013

    Dewon Brazelton

    Roger Carroll

    Dwone Hicks

    Priscilla Robinson Murray
    Basketball, Volleyball

    James "Doug" Shrader
    Basketball, Baseball

    History of the Hall of Fame

    In the early spring of 1975, a pair of long-time supporters of Middle Tennessee State University's athletic program decided that the University should honor its greatest athletes. Homer Pittard, alumni director, and Gene Sloan, public relations director, came up with the idea and asked sports information director Jim Freeman to join them in setting up an athletic hall of fame.

    After getting approval for the Hall of Fame from President M. G. Scarlett, the trio began laying the groundwork to select the first inductees. Others, including Bob Womack and Joe Nunley, were also involved.

    "We decided not to have categories but to put all candidates in one group," said Freeman. "We also decided against inducting a large group to start with and felt that three per year was the ideal number. That way, everyone got a good share of the spotlight."

    The nominating and voting for the first several years was done by members of the old "T" Club, now reorganized and called the Varsity Club. Nominations were solicited, and the the list of candidates was mailed to the voters. They selected Horace Jones, Charles "Bubber" Murphy and Teddy Morris as the initial inductees in 1976.

    The Blue Raider Hall of Fame was originally housed in the old Blue Raider Room under the west side of the football stadium. It had to be torn down when then stadium was expanded in 1998. After several years without a home, the Hall of Fame moved into the new Rose and Emmett Kennon Sports Hall of Fame building in 2004.