• Back to Membership

  • Granville "Buck" Bouldin

    Inducted: 2009
    Sports: Tennis

    As a successful attorney in Murfreesboro in the mid-1960's, Buck Bouldin knew a mutually-beneficial arrangement when he saw one. That changed In 1964, AD "Bubber" Murphy asked Bouldin, an avid tennis player, if he would coach the team as a part-time job. Murphy and Bouldin agreed to a salary of $300 and the funding of 3.5 scholarships.

    A former Marine captain and a tough competitor, Bouldin's knowledge of the game was a huge asset in recruiting and retaining good tennis players. In six years as head coach, he was twice named OVC Coach of the Year and mentored the program's first two OVC Players of the Year.

    There is no doubt that Buck Bouldin reinvigorated MTSU's tennis program, put it on the map, and did so by putting in a lot of his own time and money. His accomplishments and dedication were recognized in 2000 when the new tennis center on the MTSU courts was named for him.

    Class of 2013

    Dewon Brazelton

    Roger Carroll

    Dwone Hicks

    Priscilla Robinson Murray
    Basketball, Volleyball

    James "Doug" Shrader
    Basketball, Baseball

    History of the Hall of Fame

    In the early spring of 1975, a pair of long-time supporters of Middle Tennessee State University's athletic program decided that the University should honor its greatest athletes. Homer Pittard, alumni director, and Gene Sloan, public relations director, came up with the idea and asked sports information director Jim Freeman to join them in setting up an athletic hall of fame.

    After getting approval for the Hall of Fame from President M. G. Scarlett, the trio began laying the groundwork to select the first inductees. Others, including Bob Womack and Joe Nunley, were also involved.

    "We decided not to have categories but to put all candidates in one group," said Freeman. "We also decided against inducting a large group to start with and felt that three per year was the ideal number. That way, everyone got a good share of the spotlight."

    The nominating and voting for the first several years was done by members of the old "T" Club, now reorganized and called the Varsity Club. Nominations were solicited, and the the list of candidates was mailed to the voters. They selected Horace Jones, Charles "Bubber" Murphy and Teddy Morris as the initial inductees in 1976.

    The Blue Raider Hall of Fame was originally housed in the old Blue Raider Room under the west side of the football stadium. It had to be torn down when then stadium was expanded in 1998. After several years without a home, the Hall of Fame moved into the new Rose and Emmett Kennon Sports Hall of Fame building in 2004.