• Back to Membership

  • Diane Cummings Turnham

    Inducted: 2012
    Sports: Athletic Administration

    Diane Cummings Turnham began her Blue Raider career as an assistant women's basketball coach more than three decades ago and saw her career evolve into the University's top women's athletic administrator. Cummings began as Blue Raider coaching basketball under three head coaches: Larry Joe Inman, Jim Davis and Lewis Bivens. She assisted in the recruiting of Hall of Famers Kim Webb, Jennifer McFall and Tawanya Mucker.

    When Title IX came into being, she took over the new volleyball program and laid the groundwork for years of success. Turnham was then promoted to Assistant Athletic Director for Compliance, and then to Associate AD/Senior Women's Administrator. She has chaired several women's committees for the Sun Belt Conference and in 2009 was named to serve on, and then chair, the prestigious NCAA Women's Volleyball Committee.

    Class of 2013

    Dewon Brazelton

    Roger Carroll

    Dwone Hicks

    Priscilla Robinson Murray
    Basketball, Volleyball

    James "Doug" Shrader
    Basketball, Baseball

    History of the Hall of Fame

    In the early spring of 1975, a pair of long-time supporters of Middle Tennessee State University's athletic program decided that the University should honor its greatest athletes. Homer Pittard, alumni director, and Gene Sloan, public relations director, came up with the idea and asked sports information director Jim Freeman to join them in setting up an athletic hall of fame.

    After getting approval for the Hall of Fame from President M. G. Scarlett, the trio began laying the groundwork to select the first inductees. Others, including Bob Womack and Joe Nunley, were also involved.

    "We decided not to have categories but to put all candidates in one group," said Freeman. "We also decided against inducting a large group to start with and felt that three per year was the ideal number. That way, everyone got a good share of the spotlight."

    The nominating and voting for the first several years was done by members of the old "T" Club, now reorganized and called the Varsity Club. Nominations were solicited, and the the list of candidates was mailed to the voters. They selected Horace Jones, Charles "Bubber" Murphy and Teddy Morris as the initial inductees in 1976.

    The Blue Raider Hall of Fame was originally housed in the old Blue Raider Room under the west side of the football stadium. It had to be torn down when then stadium was expanded in 1998. After several years without a home, the Hall of Fame moved into the new Rose and Emmett Kennon Sports Hall of Fame building in 2004.