• Back to Membership

  • Dwone Hicks

    Inducted: 2013
    Sports: Football

    Dwone Hicks was a stalwart on the gridiron, ending his amazing career in 2002 as the all-time scoring leader for the famed Blue Raider football program.

    The four-year letterman was a workhorse in every sense of the word as he amassed more than 4,300 all-purpose years in his career, the second-most ever in Blue Raider football history.

    The Huntsville, AL native was named the Sun Belt Conference's 2001 offensive player of the year as the Blue Raiders went 8-3 and earned a share of the conference championship. Later, He was honored to be named to the conference's 30-year anniversary football team.

    In reviewing the Blue Raider football record book, you get a full understanding of Hicks' dramatic impact on the program as he is still listed 40 times, mostly in the Top 10, more than a decade after his career ended.

    Class of 2013

    Dewon Brazelton

    Roger Carroll

    Dwone Hicks

    Priscilla Robinson Murray
    Basketball, Volleyball

    James "Doug" Shrader
    Basketball, Baseball

    History of the Hall of Fame

    In the early spring of 1975, a pair of long-time supporters of Middle Tennessee State University's athletic program decided that the University should honor its greatest athletes. Homer Pittard, alumni director, and Gene Sloan, public relations director, came up with the idea and asked sports information director Jim Freeman to join them in setting up an athletic hall of fame.

    After getting approval for the Hall of Fame from President M. G. Scarlett, the trio began laying the groundwork to select the first inductees. Others, including Bob Womack and Joe Nunley, were also involved.

    "We decided not to have categories but to put all candidates in one group," said Freeman. "We also decided against inducting a large group to start with and felt that three per year was the ideal number. That way, everyone got a good share of the spotlight."

    The nominating and voting for the first several years was done by members of the old "T" Club, now reorganized and called the Varsity Club. Nominations were solicited, and the the list of candidates was mailed to the voters. They selected Horace Jones, Charles "Bubber" Murphy and Teddy Morris as the initial inductees in 1976.

    The Blue Raider Hall of Fame was originally housed in the old Blue Raider Room under the west side of the football stadium. It had to be torn down when then stadium was expanded in 1998. After several years without a home, the Hall of Fame moved into the new Rose and Emmett Kennon Sports Hall of Fame building in 2004.