• Back to Membership

  • Priscilla Robinson Murray

    Inducted: 2013
    Sports: Basketball, Volleyball

    Upon arriving on the Murfreesboro campus from Chattanooga in 1991, Robinson quickly took charge and, stunningly, led the Lady Raiders' basketball squad in scoring and rebounding for all four years en route to the team's highly-impressive 75-37 overall record.

    She was the OVC freshman of the year in 1991, player of the year in 1992, a three-time all-tournament team member and a four-time all-conference selection as she led her Lady Raiders to an impressive 42-16 OVC record during her career.

    She also took her highly-athletic skills to the Lady Raider volleyball court and gave the team solid performances as a hitter/blocker. In addition, Robinson also perfected the art of the jump-serve, much to the chagrin of her opponents.

    Class of 2013

    Dewon Brazelton

    Roger Carroll

    Dwone Hicks

    Priscilla Robinson Murray
    Basketball, Volleyball

    James "Doug" Shrader
    Basketball, Baseball

    History of the Hall of Fame

    In the early spring of 1975, a pair of long-time supporters of Middle Tennessee State University's athletic program decided that the University should honor its greatest athletes. Homer Pittard, alumni director, and Gene Sloan, public relations director, came up with the idea and asked sports information director Jim Freeman to join them in setting up an athletic hall of fame.

    After getting approval for the Hall of Fame from President M. G. Scarlett, the trio began laying the groundwork to select the first inductees. Others, including Bob Womack and Joe Nunley, were also involved.

    "We decided not to have categories but to put all candidates in one group," said Freeman. "We also decided against inducting a large group to start with and felt that three per year was the ideal number. That way, everyone got a good share of the spotlight."

    The nominating and voting for the first several years was done by members of the old "T" Club, now reorganized and called the Varsity Club. Nominations were solicited, and the the list of candidates was mailed to the voters. They selected Horace Jones, Charles "Bubber" Murphy and Teddy Morris as the initial inductees in 1976.

    The Blue Raider Hall of Fame was originally housed in the old Blue Raider Room under the west side of the football stadium. It had to be torn down when then stadium was expanded in 1998. After several years without a home, the Hall of Fame moved into the new Rose and Emmett Kennon Sports Hall of Fame building in 2004.