• Back to Membership

  • Gene Sloan

    Inducted: 1989
    Sports: Director of Public Relations, Sports Information, Athletic Administration

    A Cumberland College alumnus, Gene Sloan retired from MT public relations with a strong record of supporting the university, particularly its athletic programs. A member of the MT Athletic Committee for 25 years, he played a key role in helping the institution obtain OVC membership.

    Sloan taught at MT in the summer during the early years of World War II, later becoming state editor for the "Nashville Banner" before joining MT full time. He was instrumental in moving MT from the Southern Intercollegiate Basketball Association to the OVC.

    President of the Volunteer State Athletic Conference on several occasions, Sloan was MT's sports information director for 12 years. A one-time coach at Lebanon, Tenn., High School, Sloan remained a staunch Blue Raider supporter after his retirement.

    Class of 2013

    Dewon Brazelton

    Roger Carroll

    Dwone Hicks

    Priscilla Robinson Murray
    Basketball, Volleyball

    James "Doug" Shrader
    Basketball, Baseball

    History of the Hall of Fame

    In the early spring of 1975, a pair of long-time supporters of Middle Tennessee State University's athletic program decided that the University should honor its greatest athletes. Homer Pittard, alumni director, and Gene Sloan, public relations director, came up with the idea and asked sports information director Jim Freeman to join them in setting up an athletic hall of fame.

    After getting approval for the Hall of Fame from President M. G. Scarlett, the trio began laying the groundwork to select the first inductees. Others, including Bob Womack and Joe Nunley, were also involved.

    "We decided not to have categories but to put all candidates in one group," said Freeman. "We also decided against inducting a large group to start with and felt that three per year was the ideal number. That way, everyone got a good share of the spotlight."

    The nominating and voting for the first several years was done by members of the old "T" Club, now reorganized and called the Varsity Club. Nominations were solicited, and the the list of candidates was mailed to the voters. They selected Horace Jones, Charles "Bubber" Murphy and Teddy Morris as the initial inductees in 1976.

    The Blue Raider Hall of Fame was originally housed in the old Blue Raider Room under the west side of the football stadium. It had to be torn down when then stadium was expanded in 1998. After several years without a home, the Hall of Fame moved into the new Rose and Emmett Kennon Sports Hall of Fame building in 2004.