• Back to Membership

  • Teddy Morris

    Inducted: 1976
    Sports: Football, Baseball

    From the moment he arrived on the MT campus in 1962, Teddy Morris was destined to set collegiate football on its collective ear. In his four years, he helped the Blue Raiders earn a 32-8-1 record which yielded three OVC championships. His record of 41 touchdown passes, 14.7 yards per completion and 252 points scored in passing has stood the test of time.

    After leading the Blue Raiders to a 10-0 season, he was named OVC Offensive player of the Year in 1965. In 1970, the "Nashville Banner" named him OVC Offensive Player of the Decade. In recognition of his stellar performance on the gridiron, his jersey number — 14 — was officially retired in his last year of play. Morris went on to be an assistant MT coach from 1970-73 before going into private business.

    Class of 2013

    Dewon Brazelton

    Roger Carroll

    Dwone Hicks

    Priscilla Robinson Murray
    Basketball, Volleyball

    James "Doug" Shrader
    Basketball, Baseball

    History of the Hall of Fame

    In the early spring of 1975, a pair of long-time supporters of Middle Tennessee State University's athletic program decided that the University should honor its greatest athletes. Homer Pittard, alumni director, and Gene Sloan, public relations director, came up with the idea and asked sports information director Jim Freeman to join them in setting up an athletic hall of fame.

    After getting approval for the Hall of Fame from President M. G. Scarlett, the trio began laying the groundwork to select the first inductees. Others, including Bob Womack and Joe Nunley, were also involved.

    "We decided not to have categories but to put all candidates in one group," said Freeman. "We also decided against inducting a large group to start with and felt that three per year was the ideal number. That way, everyone got a good share of the spotlight."

    The nominating and voting for the first several years was done by members of the old "T" Club, now reorganized and called the Varsity Club. Nominations were solicited, and the the list of candidates was mailed to the voters. They selected Horace Jones, Charles "Bubber" Murphy and Teddy Morris as the initial inductees in 1976.

    The Blue Raider Hall of Fame was originally housed in the old Blue Raider Room under the west side of the football stadium. It had to be torn down when then stadium was expanded in 1998. After several years without a home, the Hall of Fame moved into the new Rose and Emmett Kennon Sports Hall of Fame building in 2004.