• Back to Membership

  • Charles "Bubber" Murphy

    Inducted: 1976
    Sports: Football, Baseball, Basketball, Tennis

    The winningest coach in the school's history, Charles "Bubber" Murphy was an icon of MT athletics. Recruited by math professor and fellow Hall of Famer, Horace Jones, Murphy came to MT on a scholarship. Competing in four sports with apparent equal skill, sometimes he reportedly finished football practice, then dropped by the tennis court to defeat all comers. Outside the locker room, he was a popular, dashing figure who was class president for three years and named most popular boy.

    After graduation, he signed with the New York Giants and played baseball in the military during World War II. He returned to MT in 1947 as a coach and forever changed athletics. His 155-63-8 record over 20 years as a football coach is unrivaled. In 1965, American Football Coaches Association named him national Coach of the Year. The Charles M. Murphy Athletic Center was dedicated in his honor.

    Class of 2013

    Dewon Brazelton

    Roger Carroll

    Dwone Hicks

    Priscilla Robinson Murray
    Basketball, Volleyball

    James "Doug" Shrader
    Basketball, Baseball

    History of the Hall of Fame

    In the early spring of 1975, a pair of long-time supporters of Middle Tennessee State University's athletic program decided that the University should honor its greatest athletes. Homer Pittard, alumni director, and Gene Sloan, public relations director, came up with the idea and asked sports information director Jim Freeman to join them in setting up an athletic hall of fame.

    After getting approval for the Hall of Fame from President M. G. Scarlett, the trio began laying the groundwork to select the first inductees. Others, including Bob Womack and Joe Nunley, were also involved.

    "We decided not to have categories but to put all candidates in one group," said Freeman. "We also decided against inducting a large group to start with and felt that three per year was the ideal number. That way, everyone got a good share of the spotlight."

    The nominating and voting for the first several years was done by members of the old "T" Club, now reorganized and called the Varsity Club. Nominations were solicited, and the the list of candidates was mailed to the voters. They selected Horace Jones, Charles "Bubber" Murphy and Teddy Morris as the initial inductees in 1976.

    The Blue Raider Hall of Fame was originally housed in the old Blue Raider Room under the west side of the football stadium. It had to be torn down when then stadium was expanded in 1998. After several years without a home, the Hall of Fame moved into the new Rose and Emmett Kennon Sports Hall of Fame building in 2004.