• Back to Membership

  • Dean Hayes

    Inducted: 1982
    Sports: Track and Field Coach, Athletic Administration

    Dean Hayes' arrival at MT in 1965 heralded the emergence of a new class of Track and Field competition. Focusing on jumping events and relays and recruiting topnotch competitors, his tenure with the program is marked by multiple SBC and OVC titles as well as Coach of the Year honors from the NCAA, OVC and SBC.

    A native of Naperville, Ill., Hayes is credited with opening MT Track and Field to minorities and recruiting MT's first international competitors. Many went on to set national records in collegiate competition and to compete at the Olympics and on other international stages. Hayes has been a frequent official and coach at international athletic events.

    Hayes inaugurated the Last Chance Meet in 1975. They drew competitors from around the country who needed to better indoor times and distances to qualify for NCAA competition. The current qualifying system for championships was derived from those meets.

    Class of 2013

    Dewon Brazelton

    Roger Carroll

    Dwone Hicks

    Priscilla Robinson Murray
    Basketball, Volleyball

    James "Doug" Shrader
    Basketball, Baseball

    History of the Hall of Fame

    In the early spring of 1975, a pair of long-time supporters of Middle Tennessee State University's athletic program decided that the University should honor its greatest athletes. Homer Pittard, alumni director, and Gene Sloan, public relations director, came up with the idea and asked sports information director Jim Freeman to join them in setting up an athletic hall of fame.

    After getting approval for the Hall of Fame from President M. G. Scarlett, the trio began laying the groundwork to select the first inductees. Others, including Bob Womack and Joe Nunley, were also involved.

    "We decided not to have categories but to put all candidates in one group," said Freeman. "We also decided against inducting a large group to start with and felt that three per year was the ideal number. That way, everyone got a good share of the spotlight."

    The nominating and voting for the first several years was done by members of the old "T" Club, now reorganized and called the Varsity Club. Nominations were solicited, and the the list of candidates was mailed to the voters. They selected Horace Jones, Charles "Bubber" Murphy and Teddy Morris as the initial inductees in 1976.

    The Blue Raider Hall of Fame was originally housed in the old Blue Raider Room under the west side of the football stadium. It had to be torn down when then stadium was expanded in 1998. After several years without a home, the Hall of Fame moved into the new Rose and Emmett Kennon Sports Hall of Fame building in 2004.