• Back to Membership

  • Johnny Moore

    Inducted: 2001
    Sports: Football, Golf

    As an MT athlete and coach, Johnny Moore has placed his own indelible mark on MT's athletics. Moore coached or played in five Blue Raider OVC championship teams and lettered in football in 1957-59. During those years, the teams amassed a 26-2-1 record, won three OVC championships as well as the 1960 Tangerine Bowl over Presbyterian 21-12.

    As a member of MT's golf team in 1960-61, he won two OVC titles. He returned to his alma mater in 1989 as head golf coach and led his team to five OVC titles and the Blue Raider's only NCAA golf tournament appearance in 2000. His teams performance has earned Moore Golf Coach of the Year honors multiple times.

    Class of 2013

    Dewon Brazelton

    Roger Carroll

    Dwone Hicks

    Priscilla Robinson Murray
    Basketball, Volleyball

    James "Doug" Shrader
    Basketball, Baseball

    History of the Hall of Fame

    In the early spring of 1975, a pair of long-time supporters of Middle Tennessee State University's athletic program decided that the University should honor its greatest athletes. Homer Pittard, alumni director, and Gene Sloan, public relations director, came up with the idea and asked sports information director Jim Freeman to join them in setting up an athletic hall of fame.

    After getting approval for the Hall of Fame from President M. G. Scarlett, the trio began laying the groundwork to select the first inductees. Others, including Bob Womack and Joe Nunley, were also involved.

    "We decided not to have categories but to put all candidates in one group," said Freeman. "We also decided against inducting a large group to start with and felt that three per year was the ideal number. That way, everyone got a good share of the spotlight."

    The nominating and voting for the first several years was done by members of the old "T" Club, now reorganized and called the Varsity Club. Nominations were solicited, and the the list of candidates was mailed to the voters. They selected Horace Jones, Charles "Bubber" Murphy and Teddy Morris as the initial inductees in 1976.

    The Blue Raider Hall of Fame was originally housed in the old Blue Raider Room under the west side of the football stadium. It had to be torn down when then stadium was expanded in 1998. After several years without a home, the Hall of Fame moved into the new Rose and Emmett Kennon Sports Hall of Fame building in 2004.