• Back to Membership

  • Dr. O. Tom Johns

    Inducted: 2002
    Sports: Team Physician, Athletic Administration

    As an orthopedic surgeon, O. Tom Johns, M.D., has given untold hours and skill to a host of injured MTSU athletes. A native of Murfreesboro and an MT alumnus, Dr. Johns became the Blue Raider team physician in 1979 after completing his medical degree at the University of Tennessee - Memphis and surgical residencies at Tampa General and Vanderbilt.

    On the sidelines at home football and basketball games and at most road games, Dr. Johns' presence assures immediate, quality care for injured athletes. The "go-to guy" when it comes to the fitness of athletes, Dr. Johns is often on hand during weekend workouts and works closely with coaches and training staff. In addition to his service on behalf of MT athletes, Dr. Johns was a member of the medical team at the 1996 Olympics in Atlanta.

    Class of 2013

    Dewon Brazelton

    Roger Carroll

    Dwone Hicks

    Priscilla Robinson Murray
    Basketball, Volleyball

    James "Doug" Shrader
    Basketball, Baseball

    History of the Hall of Fame

    In the early spring of 1975, a pair of long-time supporters of Middle Tennessee State University's athletic program decided that the University should honor its greatest athletes. Homer Pittard, alumni director, and Gene Sloan, public relations director, came up with the idea and asked sports information director Jim Freeman to join them in setting up an athletic hall of fame.

    After getting approval for the Hall of Fame from President M. G. Scarlett, the trio began laying the groundwork to select the first inductees. Others, including Bob Womack and Joe Nunley, were also involved.

    "We decided not to have categories but to put all candidates in one group," said Freeman. "We also decided against inducting a large group to start with and felt that three per year was the ideal number. That way, everyone got a good share of the spotlight."

    The nominating and voting for the first several years was done by members of the old "T" Club, now reorganized and called the Varsity Club. Nominations were solicited, and the the list of candidates was mailed to the voters. They selected Horace Jones, Charles "Bubber" Murphy and Teddy Morris as the initial inductees in 1976.

    The Blue Raider Hall of Fame was originally housed in the old Blue Raider Room under the west side of the football stadium. It had to be torn down when then stadium was expanded in 1998. After several years without a home, the Hall of Fame moved into the new Rose and Emmett Kennon Sports Hall of Fame building in 2004.