• Back to Membership

  • Roxie McHenry

    Inducted: 1999
    Sports: Secretary to the Athletic Director, Athletic Administration

    Nicknamed MT's "mother of athletics," Roxie McHenry was secretary to every MT athletic director from Charles "Bubber" Murphy in the 1960s through Lee Fowler in the 1990s. In addition to her administrative responsibilities, McHenry was a valuable information resource because of her knowledge of every athlete to play for MT since she joined the department in the 1950s.

    "She was the rock of athletics," said John Stanford, fellow Hall of Famer and former AD. "Anytime something happened, we all went to Roxie — the players, the coaches and the ADs. We all leaned on her." The Roxie McHenry Loyalty Award, given annually to the person who shows the most loyalty to Blue Raider athletics, was established in her honor.

    Class of 2013

    Dewon Brazelton

    Roger Carroll

    Dwone Hicks

    Priscilla Robinson Murray
    Basketball, Volleyball

    James "Doug" Shrader
    Basketball, Baseball

    History of the Hall of Fame

    In the early spring of 1975, a pair of long-time supporters of Middle Tennessee State University's athletic program decided that the University should honor its greatest athletes. Homer Pittard, alumni director, and Gene Sloan, public relations director, came up with the idea and asked sports information director Jim Freeman to join them in setting up an athletic hall of fame.

    After getting approval for the Hall of Fame from President M. G. Scarlett, the trio began laying the groundwork to select the first inductees. Others, including Bob Womack and Joe Nunley, were also involved.

    "We decided not to have categories but to put all candidates in one group," said Freeman. "We also decided against inducting a large group to start with and felt that three per year was the ideal number. That way, everyone got a good share of the spotlight."

    The nominating and voting for the first several years was done by members of the old "T" Club, now reorganized and called the Varsity Club. Nominations were solicited, and the the list of candidates was mailed to the voters. They selected Horace Jones, Charles "Bubber" Murphy and Teddy Morris as the initial inductees in 1976.

    The Blue Raider Hall of Fame was originally housed in the old Blue Raider Room under the west side of the football stadium. It had to be torn down when then stadium was expanded in 1998. After several years without a home, the Hall of Fame moved into the new Rose and Emmett Kennon Sports Hall of Fame building in 2004.