• Back to Membership

  • Julian Crocker

    Inducted: 1991
    Sports: Football

    A native of Camden, Tenn., Julian Crocker was a standout from 1927-1930 for MT football and captain of the team in his senior year. Following graduation, he coached football, baseball and track at Isaac Litton High School in Nashville. He became head coach in 1937, the year his football team was the state runner-up.

    He also coached at Columbia Military Academy, the Navy's V-12 program at Milligan College and Texas Arlington. He went on to coach football and track at Eastern Tennessee University, now East Tennessee State. In the 1930s, he helped organize the Tennessee High School Coaches Association. He was inducted into the East Tennessee State University Hall of Fame in 1985.

    Class of 2013

    Dewon Brazelton

    Roger Carroll

    Dwone Hicks

    Priscilla Robinson Murray
    Basketball, Volleyball

    James "Doug" Shrader
    Basketball, Baseball

    History of the Hall of Fame

    In the early spring of 1975, a pair of long-time supporters of Middle Tennessee State University's athletic program decided that the University should honor its greatest athletes. Homer Pittard, alumni director, and Gene Sloan, public relations director, came up with the idea and asked sports information director Jim Freeman to join them in setting up an athletic hall of fame.

    After getting approval for the Hall of Fame from President M. G. Scarlett, the trio began laying the groundwork to select the first inductees. Others, including Bob Womack and Joe Nunley, were also involved.

    "We decided not to have categories but to put all candidates in one group," said Freeman. "We also decided against inducting a large group to start with and felt that three per year was the ideal number. That way, everyone got a good share of the spotlight."

    The nominating and voting for the first several years was done by members of the old "T" Club, now reorganized and called the Varsity Club. Nominations were solicited, and the the list of candidates was mailed to the voters. They selected Horace Jones, Charles "Bubber" Murphy and Teddy Morris as the initial inductees in 1976.

    The Blue Raider Hall of Fame was originally housed in the old Blue Raider Room under the west side of the football stadium. It had to be torn down when then stadium was expanded in 1998. After several years without a home, the Hall of Fame moved into the new Rose and Emmett Kennon Sports Hall of Fame building in 2004.