• Back to Membership

  • G. E. McCormack

    Inducted: 1995
    Sports: Football, Baseball

    G. E. McCormack had just returned from military service in Korea when MT head coach, athletic director and Hall of Famer, Charles, "Bubber" Murphy convinced the talented athlete that his competitive nature would be better served at MT than at the University of Tennessee. In three seasons, McCormack caught 30 passes for 592 yards and 12 touchdowns for teams that won 24 games, lost five and took two OVC Championships. As a senior, he was All-OVC and won a first-team berth on the NAIA All-America team.

    In the off-season in 1955-56, the Nashville, Tenn., native was a catcher for Blue Raider baseball. He has held the school record for his single-season batting average, slashing opposing pitching for a .443 average in 1956. After graduation, he coached for two Nashville high schools before moving to an administrative post in the Metro Davidson County School system.

    Class of 2013

    Dewon Brazelton

    Roger Carroll

    Dwone Hicks

    Priscilla Robinson Murray
    Basketball, Volleyball

    James "Doug" Shrader
    Basketball, Baseball

    History of the Hall of Fame

    In the early spring of 1975, a pair of long-time supporters of Middle Tennessee State University's athletic program decided that the University should honor its greatest athletes. Homer Pittard, alumni director, and Gene Sloan, public relations director, came up with the idea and asked sports information director Jim Freeman to join them in setting up an athletic hall of fame.

    After getting approval for the Hall of Fame from President M. G. Scarlett, the trio began laying the groundwork to select the first inductees. Others, including Bob Womack and Joe Nunley, were also involved.

    "We decided not to have categories but to put all candidates in one group," said Freeman. "We also decided against inducting a large group to start with and felt that three per year was the ideal number. That way, everyone got a good share of the spotlight."

    The nominating and voting for the first several years was done by members of the old "T" Club, now reorganized and called the Varsity Club. Nominations were solicited, and the the list of candidates was mailed to the voters. They selected Horace Jones, Charles "Bubber" Murphy and Teddy Morris as the initial inductees in 1976.

    The Blue Raider Hall of Fame was originally housed in the old Blue Raider Room under the west side of the football stadium. It had to be torn down when then stadium was expanded in 1998. After several years without a home, the Hall of Fame moved into the new Rose and Emmett Kennon Sports Hall of Fame building in 2004.