• Back to Membership

  • Gregg Cunnyngham

    Inducted: 2007
    Sports: Baseball

    A right-handed submarine pitcher, Cunnyngham started and relieved for the Blue Raiders from 1966 through 1968. He was all conference in both 1967 and 1968, earning Ohio Valley Conference Player of the Year and All-Region honors in '68. He was 9-0 in 1968 as he led MTSU to its' first-ever OVC baseball championship. His career stats are astonishing, compiling a 17-3 won-lost record and an earned run average of an unbelievable 1.55, giving up only 32 earned runs in 186 innings.

    Seven of his wins were shutouts and he pitched 13 complete games, striking out 186 while walking only 90. With his record of 9-0 in 1968, Cunnyngham led the blue Raiders to a 23-9 record overall and a berth in the college division Mideast Regional. He won two games in the regional as the Raiders came up one game short of the World Series. He was, perhaps, as dominating a pitcher in the OVC as the Raiders have ever had.

    Cunnyngham played professionally for two years with the Philadelphia Phillies and two years with the Cleveland Indians.

    Class of 2013

    Dewon Brazelton

    Roger Carroll

    Dwone Hicks

    Priscilla Robinson Murray
    Basketball, Volleyball

    James "Doug" Shrader
    Basketball, Baseball

    History of the Hall of Fame

    In the early spring of 1975, a pair of long-time supporters of Middle Tennessee State University's athletic program decided that the University should honor its greatest athletes. Homer Pittard, alumni director, and Gene Sloan, public relations director, came up with the idea and asked sports information director Jim Freeman to join them in setting up an athletic hall of fame.

    After getting approval for the Hall of Fame from President M. G. Scarlett, the trio began laying the groundwork to select the first inductees. Others, including Bob Womack and Joe Nunley, were also involved.

    "We decided not to have categories but to put all candidates in one group," said Freeman. "We also decided against inducting a large group to start with and felt that three per year was the ideal number. That way, everyone got a good share of the spotlight."

    The nominating and voting for the first several years was done by members of the old "T" Club, now reorganized and called the Varsity Club. Nominations were solicited, and the the list of candidates was mailed to the voters. They selected Horace Jones, Charles "Bubber" Murphy and Teddy Morris as the initial inductees in 1976.

    The Blue Raider Hall of Fame was originally housed in the old Blue Raider Room under the west side of the football stadium. It had to be torn down when then stadium was expanded in 1998. After several years without a home, the Hall of Fame moved into the new Rose and Emmett Kennon Sports Hall of Fame building in 2004.