• Back to Membership

  • Mike Moore

    Inducted: 2007
    Sports: Football

    Mike Moore ranks as one of the finest running backs in Blue Raider football history. Recruited as a result of his tremendous showing in the Tennessee High School All-Star game in 1974, he rushed for more than 1,000 yards in three of his four varsity seasons.

    Moore's career total of 3,678 yards is the second-best in MTSU history; he has two of the top six single-season rushing totals for blue Raider backs—his 1,247 yards in 1975 is ranked No. 4 on the all-time list and his 1,188 yards in 1976 is No. 6. Moore was also the most durable back in Blue Raider history, with 807 carries in his four years, and he holds the record for most carries in both single game (38) and single season (296).

    Moore was an All-American in 1976 and the OVC's Offensive Player of the Year in 1975. He was a first-team All-OVC selection for each of his final three seasons of play. He rushed for more than 200 yards in a single game twice and for more than 100 yards 13 times.

    Class of 2013

    Dewon Brazelton

    Roger Carroll

    Dwone Hicks

    Priscilla Robinson Murray
    Basketball, Volleyball

    James "Doug" Shrader
    Basketball, Baseball

    History of the Hall of Fame

    In the early spring of 1975, a pair of long-time supporters of Middle Tennessee State University's athletic program decided that the University should honor its greatest athletes. Homer Pittard, alumni director, and Gene Sloan, public relations director, came up with the idea and asked sports information director Jim Freeman to join them in setting up an athletic hall of fame.

    After getting approval for the Hall of Fame from President M. G. Scarlett, the trio began laying the groundwork to select the first inductees. Others, including Bob Womack and Joe Nunley, were also involved.

    "We decided not to have categories but to put all candidates in one group," said Freeman. "We also decided against inducting a large group to start with and felt that three per year was the ideal number. That way, everyone got a good share of the spotlight."

    The nominating and voting for the first several years was done by members of the old "T" Club, now reorganized and called the Varsity Club. Nominations were solicited, and the the list of candidates was mailed to the voters. They selected Horace Jones, Charles "Bubber" Murphy and Teddy Morris as the initial inductees in 1976.

    The Blue Raider Hall of Fame was originally housed in the old Blue Raider Room under the west side of the football stadium. It had to be torn down when then stadium was expanded in 1998. After several years without a home, the Hall of Fame moved into the new Rose and Emmett Kennon Sports Hall of Fame building in 2004.