• Back to Membership

  • Jerry Beck

    Inducted: 2008
    Sports: Basketball

    Jerry Beck accomplished the enviable feat of winning the OVC Player of the Year award for the late (Head Coach) Stanley Simpson in both 1981 and 1982, leading the Blue Raiders to the OVC Tournament Championship in 1982. The 6-7 power forward was a rebounding wizard and led a talented Middle Tennessee squad to the schools third-ever NCAA Tournament appearance that same year. It was in that 1982 NCAA tourney match-up with the powerful University of Kentucky Wildcats that Beck solidified his claim to fame as he led the Blue Raiders to a stunning upset of the heavily favored Wildcats, the program's greatest victory ever.

    After his playing days were over, Beck was drafted by the NBA, but soon chose to enjoy a long career playing basketball in the Netherlands, where he competed professionally until the age of 42. He still stands as one of the Blue Raider program's all-time leaders in scoring, rebounding and free-throw shooting.

    Class of 2013

    Dewon Brazelton

    Roger Carroll

    Dwone Hicks

    Priscilla Robinson Murray
    Basketball, Volleyball

    James "Doug" Shrader
    Basketball, Baseball

    History of the Hall of Fame

    In the early spring of 1975, a pair of long-time supporters of Middle Tennessee State University's athletic program decided that the University should honor its greatest athletes. Homer Pittard, alumni director, and Gene Sloan, public relations director, came up with the idea and asked sports information director Jim Freeman to join them in setting up an athletic hall of fame.

    After getting approval for the Hall of Fame from President M. G. Scarlett, the trio began laying the groundwork to select the first inductees. Others, including Bob Womack and Joe Nunley, were also involved.

    "We decided not to have categories but to put all candidates in one group," said Freeman. "We also decided against inducting a large group to start with and felt that three per year was the ideal number. That way, everyone got a good share of the spotlight."

    The nominating and voting for the first several years was done by members of the old "T" Club, now reorganized and called the Varsity Club. Nominations were solicited, and the the list of candidates was mailed to the voters. They selected Horace Jones, Charles "Bubber" Murphy and Teddy Morris as the initial inductees in 1976.

    The Blue Raider Hall of Fame was originally housed in the old Blue Raider Room under the west side of the football stadium. It had to be torn down when then stadium was expanded in 1998. After several years without a home, the Hall of Fame moved into the new Rose and Emmett Kennon Sports Hall of Fame building in 2004.