• Back to Membership

  • Joe Campbell

    Inducted: 2008
    Sports: Football

    Recruited as a defensive back out of Nashville's Stratford High School by many schools, Campbell chose Middle Tennessee and Coach Boots Donnelly in order to fulfill his dream of being a college running back. Proving them both correct, he left the Blue Raiders in 1991 as the all-time career leader in rushing yards (3,823 yds.), touchdowns (45) and scoring (272 points). He was OVC Player of the Year in 1990 and All-OVC in '89, '90 and '91.

    He was named to the Associated Press All-American, Kodak AFCA All-American, Walter Camp All-American and Sports Network All-American teams in 1990 and the Kodak AFCA All-American team in 1991. He rushed for over 1,000 yards in both 1990 and 1991 and was a spiritual leader both on and off the field. He remains a fan favorite to this day.

    Class of 2013

    Dewon Brazelton

    Roger Carroll

    Dwone Hicks

    Priscilla Robinson Murray
    Basketball, Volleyball

    James "Doug" Shrader
    Basketball, Baseball

    History of the Hall of Fame

    In the early spring of 1975, a pair of long-time supporters of Middle Tennessee State University's athletic program decided that the University should honor its greatest athletes. Homer Pittard, alumni director, and Gene Sloan, public relations director, came up with the idea and asked sports information director Jim Freeman to join them in setting up an athletic hall of fame.

    After getting approval for the Hall of Fame from President M. G. Scarlett, the trio began laying the groundwork to select the first inductees. Others, including Bob Womack and Joe Nunley, were also involved.

    "We decided not to have categories but to put all candidates in one group," said Freeman. "We also decided against inducting a large group to start with and felt that three per year was the ideal number. That way, everyone got a good share of the spotlight."

    The nominating and voting for the first several years was done by members of the old "T" Club, now reorganized and called the Varsity Club. Nominations were solicited, and the the list of candidates was mailed to the voters. They selected Horace Jones, Charles "Bubber" Murphy and Teddy Morris as the initial inductees in 1976.

    The Blue Raider Hall of Fame was originally housed in the old Blue Raider Room under the west side of the football stadium. It had to be torn down when then stadium was expanded in 1998. After several years without a home, the Hall of Fame moved into the new Rose and Emmett Kennon Sports Hall of Fame building in 2004.